Using Pipelines

Avatar

By Mary Cooper

updated 3 days ago

Workflow consists of Pipelines & Tasks. 

Pipelines are business processes you setup that help manage your flow of clients and always know where clients are in it. Pipelines are fully customizable to your specific firm's needs. Within pipelines, you can run automated actions such as the creation of tasks, sending of emails, etc.

Covered here:

What Are Pipelines

A pipeline is a set of stages that a client moves through, as they progress through the documents preparation cycle. Once each pipeline stage is completed, the client is advanced to the next stage. You can associate automated actions to the stages (see below).

Here are some examples of pipelines:

Example 1 - 1040 Return

Stage 1 Review Docs

Stage 2 Prepare Engagement Letter

Stage 3 Prepare Return

Stage 4 Review

Stage 5 E-file


Example 2 -  Payroll

Stage 1 Review Docs

Stage 2 Timecard reviews

Stage 3 Initiate Debit

Stage 4 Send Paystubs

Creating a Pipeline

A pipeline can be created by the firm owner or by any team member with access rights granted. Here are the steps:

1. Go to Settings, then to Templatesselect Pipelines, then click on the CREATE PIPELINE button.

2. Enter a name for the pipeline.

3. Grant your team members access to the pipeline by selecting the checkboxes next to their names.

4. Enter a stage name, then click Add stage to add an additional stage. Add as many stages as you need. 

5. Click SAVE.

Adding an Automated Stage Action

Your pipelines can include automated actions that are linked to stages. Once a client is moved to a stage with automated action attached, the action is triggered (the task is automatically created, etc.). You can add stage actions while creating or editing a pipeline. Read more on this in a Using Automated Actions article. 

If there is a task associated with a stage, you can see this on your pipeline. See Discovering Automatically Created Items on Your Pipeline for details. 

Editing a Pipeline

A pipeline can be edited by the firm owner or by any team member with access rights granted. Here are the steps:

1. Go to Settings, then to Templates, select Pipelines, then click the pipeline name. You can change a name for the pipeline, select or deselect team members who can access it. You can also make any changes to stages you need:

  • To add a stage, click Add stage, then enter a stage name.
  • To move a stage, point to a move icon next to its name, then drag-n-drop. 
  • To delete a stage, click on the red icon next to its name.
  • To add an action to a stage.
  • To delete a stage action.

2. Click SAVE.

Adding a Client to a Pipeline

Once a pipeline has been created, you can add clients and move them through it.

1. Go to the Workflow section, then select the pipeline at the top. Each pipeline is visualized as a kanban board

2. Click on Add client, then select a client from the list. A client is automatically added to the first stage.



Moving a Client Through a Pipeline

You can freely move a client to any stage in a pipeline. Hover a mouse to their name, then drag-n-drop. If there are automated actions associated with a pipeline, the popup with the automated actions that are going to be generated is displayed. Deselect the ones you don't want to happen, then click Move

If there are existing tasks tied to a pipeline stage that were not finished (status is not marked complete), you are asked how you wish to proceed. You can mark them as done, delete or move to the next stage.

Once an item associated with a stage action was automatically created, you can see it on your pipeline along with its status. Here's how to read it:

  • #  - the number of tasks outstanding associated with the stage.
  • green circle - the associated task is not yet at the deadline.
  • orange circle - the associated task is approaching deadline (3 days or less).
  • red circle - the associated task is overdue.
  • gray circle - the associated task does not have a due date.
  • check mark -  all tasks for that stage are completed.

Deleting a Client From a Pipeline

A client can be deleted from any pipeline stage. Click their name on a board, then click on the red icon.


Managing Pipelines for a Particular Client

You can also explore all of the pipelines for a particular client by navigating to Clients, clicking on the client's name, then going to Workflow. You will see every pipeline for that client as well as its progress. Here you can:

  • Move a client through the pipeline: Hover a mouse to their name, then drag-and-drop.
  • Delete a client from a pipeline: click on the red icon. Once a client has been deleted, the pipeline is no longer visible in their profile. 

Deleting a Pipeline

To delete a pipeline, go to Settings, then to Templates, select Pipelines, then click on the red icon next to the pipeline. Note that this will delete all stages linked to the pipeline.


Did this answer your question?