Jobs: How to Add, Move, Edit, Archive, Delete

While pipelines are a tool that allows you to view all your projects in one place, jobs are the individual projects that you’re performing for clients that move through a pipeline. You can add new jobs to a pipeline, link documents, contracts, bills to them, and move them from stage to stage until completion. 

Covered here:

Adding Jobs

Once a pipeline has been created, you can add jobs to it and link them to accounts. Keep in mind:

  • Jobs can be added to pipelines by a firm owner or any team member who has been given access rights to manage pipelines.
  • Team members can see only the pipelines made available to them in the pipelines’ settings.
  • Team members can move jobs for their assigned accounts through pipelines.
  • Team members can see only the jobs of their assigned accounts in pipelines, unless they’ve been given access rights to view all accounts.
  • New jobs are always added to the first stage of a pipeline.
  • You can add jobs for both active and offline accounts. However, only active accounts with notifications turned on will receive emails sent to them via pipeline automation.
  • To speed things up, you can create jobs based on your custom templates.

You can add jobs in several ways: 

Add Jobs in Bulk

If adding multiple jobs at once fails for some reason, you’ll get a notification in your Inbox+. Go here for more details.

To add a job, either:

  • Go to the Workflow section, select the pipeline, click on Add job, add the client(s) you want to add, then select custom job template (optional),  OR

  • Click the + NEW button in the left sidebar, select Job from the slide-out menu, add the client(s) you want to add, indicate the pipeline, select custom job template (optional), then click ADD. You’ll be redirected to the selected pipeline, OR

  • Go to Clients, Accounts, then All Accounts, select the checkboxes next to the necessary client accounts, click on the Add Job button, choose the pipeline, select custom job template (optional), and then click ADD. You’ll be redirected to the selected pipeline.

Job Card View Settings

You can add and edit a job’s details:

  • From any pipeline, either in the Workflow section or in the client's profile: Click on the job box to expand it.
  • From the tasks lists: If a job has a linked task, the job’s name is displayed in the Firms Tasks and My Tasks lists. Click the job’s name to see its details. 
  • From the Jobs tab of the Workflow section: Click on the job name.

The job’s details will then appear in the expanded box on the right, and you’ll have the option to do the following:

  • Change the job’s name: By default, the job’s name is similar to the pipeline’s. Change it by clicking on it, then typing a new one.
  • Move the job to a new stage in the pipeline: Select the new stage from the drop-down menu. See more details here.
  • Set a due date for the job: Setting a due date is optional but can act as a helpful time-management tool.
  • Set the job priority: Select LOW, HIGH, MEDIUM, or URGENT.
  • Enter the job’s description: You can apply formatting and add bullets or numbered lists to the description. 
  • Link elements (documents, bills, organizers, contracts, tasks, etc.): See more details here.
  • Add a comment: Write helpful reminders about the job. When it’s no longer relevant, delete it. 

Click Back to return to the pipeline, and all changes are automatically saved.

Linking Elements to Jobs

This section was moved. See here.

Moving Jobs to New Stages

Jobs can be moved to new stages either manually or automatically, via the automations. Read more on Jobs: Automove.

To move a job to a new stage in a pipeline manually, hover the mouse over its name, then drag-and-drop it. You can also move a job to a new stage while editing its details. If there are any automations linked to the stage, you’ll see a pop-up showing them. Deselect the ones you don’t want to be triggered. All automations in a stage fire off at the same time (when job enters the stage).

If tasks linked to a stage weren’t completed, choose one of the options from the pull-down menu in the Unfinished tasks section, then click the MOVE button. Read more on how to use linked tasks in Jobs in the article.

Keeping Track of Jobs 

You can always stay on top of how long a job has remained in a stage; the amount of time is displayed right beneath the client account name in the job box. 

You can view all jobs belonging to all pipelines on one page, then sort the list or apply filters to it (a useful tool for reporting). Navigate to the Workflow section, then open the Jobs tab. All jobs are stored either under the Active or Archived subtabs.

You’ll see the following column headers:

  • NAME: the name of the job.
  • PIPELINE: the pipeline the job belongs to.
  • STAGE: the stage the job is currently in.
  • ACCOUNT: the name of the client the job is for.
  • DATE ADDED: when the job was added.
  • DUE DATE: the due date for the job (only for Active jobs).
  • DATE ARCHIVED: when the job was archived (only for Archived jobs).

To sort the jobs list, click on the up-down arrow next to the relevant column header to sort the list below it. You can sort jobs by NAME, PIPELINE, STAGE, ACCOUNT, DATE ADDED or DUE DATE.

Use filters when you need to find jobs by specific type. For example, filtering can allow you to find all jobs for a client account. There are three ways to filter a list of jobs:

  • By assigned team members: See only the jobs assigned to a selected team member or several team members. 
  • By account: See only the jobs for a selected client account.
  • By pipeline: See only the jobs belonging to one or several pipelines. Select a specific pipeline stage or several stages from different pipelines to narrow the results even more.

To narrow a list of jobs to only the ones you want to see, click the FILTER button in the top right corner of the Jobs page, select the filters you want to use, then click APPLY. You can apply one or more at a time.

Once the filters are applied, the list of jobs is narrowed to your specifications. You can clear all the filters by clicking the RESET button, then clicking APPLY.

Sorting Jobs in Pipelines

By default, jobs are sorted by client account name. However, you can also sort them by the amount of time they’ve been in a stage, so that newly added jobs are displayed at the top or bottom. Go to Settings, select Pipelines, then click the pipeline name to change the Sort accounts in stages by setting.

Archiving Jobs

Once you've completed a job, archive it. Archiving jobs rather than deleting them can be useful for reporting purposes. Archived jobs can be edited just like active ones. However, they’re no longer visible in the pipelines they belonged to.

There are three ways to archive a job: 

  • In bulk, from the Jobs tab of the Workflow section: Select the job names in a Jobs list, then click Archive at the top of the list.
  • One by one, from the Jobs tab of the Workflow section: Click on the three-dots icon to the far right of the job’s name, then select Archive.
  • One by one, from any pipeline: Click on the job box to expand it, click on the three-dots icon on the top right of the expanded box, select Archive, then confirm by clicking the ARCHIVE button.

The job is then moved from the Active to the Archived subtab. 

If you have archived a job but later discover you need it, you can make it active again.

  • From the Jobs tab of the Workflow section: Go to Archived subtab, click on the three-dots icon to the far right of the job’s name, then select Make Active.
  • From the Workflow tab of the client's profile: Go to Archived Jobs subtab, click on the three-dots icon to the far right of the job’s name, then select Make Active.
  • From job details bar: Click on the three-dots icon on the top right of the job details bar, then select Make Active from the pull-down.

Deleting Jobs From Pipelines

Though we recommend archiving completed jobs rather than deleting them, you do have the option to permanently remove them. Click on the job box to expand it, click on the three-dots icon on the top right of the expanded box, select Delete, then confirm by clicking the DELETE JOB button.


Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us