Services (Basic): Create, Edit, Archive & Delete

pro

This page is for TaxDome Pro usersupgrade at any time.

Use our Services feature to itemize your invoices and add specific services to your contracts. You’ll complete transactions faster and get more detailed financial reports. Plus, your clients will always know exactly what they’re paying for.

Creating Services

Once you create a service, you can add it to any invoice or contract. Here’s how to create one:

1. Go to Settings from the left sidebar, choose Services in the menu bar, then click Create Service.

2. Enter the name of the service. This is what you’ll see when selecting it and what the client sees on their invoice or contract.

3. Enter the rate for the service, then select the rate type (optional). Depending on the kind of service, you may want to charge per item or per hour. Clients will see the rate type.

4. Choose a category for the service or click Create Category to add a new one. Categories help filter your Service list when adding them to contracts and invoices.

5. When you’re done in the Create service window, click Create. Now you can add the service to invoices and contracts.

Editing Services

If you need to edit an existing service (e.g., change a price), follow these steps:

1. Go to Settings from the left sidebar menu, select Services in the menu bar, click the three dots to the far right of the service name, then select Edit.

2. Make your changes, then click Back. Changes are automatically saved.

Sorting the Service List

By default, services are sorted by title. However, you can also sort them by category, rate or rate type. Click on the up-down arrow icon to the right of the column heading to sort a list of services.

Archiving Services

If a service is no longer needed, archive it rather than delete it. You may need to refer back to it when you’re reporting. Archived services are edited the same way as active ones, but they’re no longer visible in your templates and filters—and they cannot be linked to invoices or contracts.

Go to Services, click the three dots to the right of the service you want to archive, click Archive, then confirm. The service is moved from the Active to the Archived tab.

If you’ve archived a service but need it again: Open the Archived tab, click on the three dots to the right of the service, select Restore, then confirm.

tip

Note: You’ll need to add the restored service to your contract and invoice templates again.

Deleting Services

Though we recommend archiving services rather than deleting them, you can permanently remove them. Click the three dots to the far right of the service name, select Delete, then confirm by clicking Delete again. All invoices that previously included that service will still remain.

Who Can Manage Services

A firm owner, admin, or any employee who has access rights to manage services can create, edit and delete them. To give a team member access rights to manage services:

1. Go to Settings, select Team & Plans in the menu bar, navigate to Active Team Members, then click on the team member’s name in the list.

2. Click Edit Access Rights then toggle on Manage services.

3. Click Save. Now the team member will be able to manage services.

Syncing Services to QuickBooks

This section was moved here.

Copying Services From QuickBooks

This section was moved here.

Adding Services to Invoices

This section was moved here.

Adding Services to Contracts

This section was moved here.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us