Collections

Assigning & Removing Team Members to a Client

By Mary Cooper

updated about 3 hours ago

Here's what is covered in this article:

Assigning Team Members to a Client

To grant a team member access to a client’s details, you must assign them to the client. Once the team member is assigned to the client, they can view and edit the client’s info, create bills, upload documents, etc.

Follow these steps to assign a team member to a client:

  1. Go to Clients, then click on the client's name in the list. You can also instantly search for clients from the Sidebar of any page by entering their name. 

  1. Go to the Info section's Team tab. You will see all of your employees in the Team Members with Client Access list.
  2. Turn on the toggle next to the team member to grant him/her access to a client. Each client can have several accountants.


Note that you cannot assign the firm owner to a client. The firm owner always has access to all clients. 

How to See Clients Assigned to Specific Team Members

You can easily your client list to see the clients assigned to specific team members. To do so:

  1. Go to Clients, then click on the Filter button.
  2. Select team members' names in the Team section, then click on Apply filter. You can select as many employees as you need. 

You will see the list of all clients assigned to the selected team members.

Accessing History of Changes

It’s important to know who was responsible for a client at a particular time. That’s why the system stores a history of changes. You can always find out when an accountant was assigned to a client and when he/she was removed. 

To explore the history of changes: 

  1. Go to Clients, then click on the client's name in the list. You can also instantly search for clients from the Sidebar of any page by entering their name.

2. Go to the Info section's Team subtab. 

Exploring Clients per Employee Stats

As a firm owner, you can explore a client’s statistics for every team member. Go to Settings > Team & Plan, then click on the employee's name in the list and navigate to the Clients tab. Statistics are available separately for both current clients and past clients. 

The following information is available here:

  • ID. The client's unique ID.
  • Name.  The client’s first and last names.
  • Assigned. The date the client was assigned to the team member.
  • Bills posted. The number of bills posted for each client.
  • Revenue. The amount of bills paid for each client.
  • Docs uploaded. The number of documents uploaded for each client.
  • Approved. The number of documents approved for each client.

Removing a Client from a Team Member

To remove a client from a team member, you can navigate either to the team member's profile or to the client's profile. 

To remove a client from a team member's profile:

  1. Go to Settings then to Team & Plans, then click on the employee's name in the list and navigate to the Clients tab. 
  2. Click on the red cross icon next to the client’s name.
  3. Click on the YES, REMOVE button in the Client Remove Confirmation pop-up. The selected client is automatically moved to the Past tab.

To remove a client from a client's profile:

  1. Go to Clients, then click on the client's name in the list. You can also instantly search the clients from the Sidebar
  2. Go to the Info section's Team tab. You will see all of your employees in the Team Members with Client Access list.
  3. Turn off the toggle next to the team member to remove their access to a client. 

Did this answer your question?

Did this answer your question?