Team Member Access Rights

Depending on their responsibilities, a team member can be given different access rights on TaxDome. As a firm owner, you choose which ones a team member needs to have when you register them, and these can be changed or added to at any time.

Covered here:

What a Team Member Sees

As a firm owner, you have immediate access to all of TaxDome’s features, but team members don’t. It’s up to you to decide what each team member has access to and can work on. A team member’s usage will be fairly limited on TaxDome until they’re assigned to a client. When adding a team member, there are two options:

  • If you want them to work with a selected group of clients, assign those accounts to them.
  • If you want them to be able to work with all your clients, give them View All Accounts access rights (see below).

By default, a team member who is assigned to a client’s account—or who has View All Accounts access rights only—can...

  • ...view account info.
  • ...view and download client docs.
  • ...view all message threads for their assigned accounts and respond to them.
  • ...view all of the firm’s emails for their assigned accounts and respond to them.
  • ...create bills for their assigned accounts.
  • ...view all of the firm’s notes for their assigned accounts and create new ones.
  • ...view the firm’s time entries for their assigned accounts and create new time entries.
  • ...view the pipelines for their assigned accounts and move clients from stage to stage.
  • ...view the tasks assigned to them by other team members.
  • ...view all of the firm’s tasks for their assigned accounts.
  • ...create tasks (both standalone tasks or ones for their assigned clients).
  • ...view contacts that are linked to their assigned accounts.

You can use the read-only view of a team member’s portal to get a sense of what they see and can do.

Changing a Team Member’s Access Rights

You can further expand a team member’s access rights to include more than the ones described above. To change a team member’s access rights:

1. Go to Settings, select Team & Plans in the menu bar, navigate to Active Team Members, then click on their name in the list.

2. Click on the Edit Access Rights pencil icon, then select the specific access rights the team member needs by clicking on the toggles to enable them.

3. Click SAVE.

Access Rights, Explained

Here, we give you the details on the different permissions offered in the Access Rights menu:  

  • Create manual payments: The team member can add, edit, or delete manual payments for all of their assigned accounts. To give them the ability to create manual payments for all of their accounts, turn on the View all accounts toggle.
  • View all accounts: The team member can view all of the firm’s accounts instead of being limited to only assigned ones. They can also create bills, view and send secure messages and emails, and create and read notes for all accounts. To give them access rights to view all contacts as well, turn on the View all contacts toggle.
  • Manage accounts: The team member can create new accounts and manage existing ones (edit personal details, add an additional user to a profile, etc.).
  • Manage contacts: They team member can create new contacts, link contacts to their assigned accounts, import accounts and contacts, edit existing contacts, and merge duplicates.  
  • Manage contracts: The team member can create, edit, and delete contract templates.
  • Manage documents: The team member can upload, move, edit, and delete documents and folders in their assigned accounts. Team members who don’t have this access right can only view documents and folders. To give a team member the ability to manage documents for all accounts, turn on the View all accounts toggle.
  • Manage time entries: The team member can see and open the Time Entries subtab under the Billings tab in their client accounts. And they can edit and delete time entries created by all team members for that account.
  • Manage templates: The team member can create, edit, and delete task, folder, message, organizer, and email templates.
  • Manage pipelines: The team member can view all existing pipelines, create, edit, and delete pipelines, as well as add accounts to pipelines.
  • Manage tags: The team member can create, delete, and apply tags.
  • View billing history: The team member can go to the Billings tab in a client account and view payments, payment information, or search for a specific payment. To give a team member access to all of the firm’s bills and payments, turn on the View all accounts toggle.
  • Manage custom fields: The team member can create, rename, and delete custom contact and account fields.
  • Manage organizers: The team member can send organizers to clients.
  • Assign teammates: The team member can assign other team members to accounts.
  • Charge firm balance: The team member can add funds to the firm’s KBA balance.
  • Manage site. The team member can set up the firm's landing page hosted on TaxDome and make changes to it.
  • Mute emails. The team member can mute the notifications for email threads. Read more on this in the article.
  • View all contacts: The team member can view all of the firm’s contacts. To give them the ability to interact with all accounts, turn on the View all accounts toggle.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us