Account Access

There are several ways to give team members access to client accounts. You can do it by giving default account access, by assigning one or more team member to accounts, or by using pipeline automations.

Covered here:

Account Access, Explained

At least one team member should have access to each client account. Once they have access, they can view and edit a client’s info, upload documents, create invoices, send messages, create notes, view linked contacts, and so on. They’ll also receive notifications about any activity in the account. 

By default, once a team member is given access to client accounts, they can...

  • ...view account info.
  • ...view and download client docs.
  • ...view all message threads for their assigned accounts and respond to them.
  • ...view all of the firm’s emails for their assigned accounts and respond to them.
  • ...create invoices for their assigned accounts.
  • ...view all of the firm’s notes for their assigned accounts and create new ones.
  • ...view the firm’s time entries for their assigned accounts and create new time entries.
  • ...view the pipelines for their assigned accounts and move clients from stage to stage.
  • ...view the tasks assigned to them by other team members.
  • ...view all of the firm’s tasks for their assigned accounts.
  • ...create tasks (both standalone tasks or ones for their assigned clients).
  • ...view contacts that are linked to their assigned accounts.

To get a sense of what a team member can do, use a read-only view of their portal.

Default Account Access

As a firm owner, you’ll have default account access. However, you may want to give another team member automatic access to all new unassigned accounts. To do so, follow these steps: 

Go to Settings, then open your Firm Settings tab. Find the Default Account Access section, select the team member(s) from the list, then click SAVE

Giving Team Members Access to One Account

There are several ways to go about giving a team member access to an account:

To give a team member access, select them while creating the account

To give a team member access to an existing account:

1. Go to Clients, then click on the client’s name in the list. You can also instantly find the client by going to the left sidebar menu on any page and entering the name in the search field.

2. Go to the Info section’s Team tab. You’ll see all team members in the Team Access list. By default, account access is given to a firm owner. To give team members access, turn on the toggle next to their name. Toggle off the firm owner if needed. Each account needs to have at least one team member with access rights.

Giving Team Members Access to Multiple Accounts

You can assign team members to lots of different accounts at one time. To do this:

1. Go to Clients, then select the checkboxes next to the accounts you want to assign to team members. To select all of the accounts, click the uppermost checkbox. 

2. Click on the MANAGE TEAM button.  

3. You’ll see your list of team members. For each team member, select one of the following:

  • Do nothing: The team member won’t be assigned to the accounts; however, if the team member is already assigned to the accounts, they will remain so.
  • Assign to all: The team member will be assigned to all selected accounts. 
  • Remove from all: If the team member is assigned to any of the selected accounts, they‘ll be removed from being assigned.

4. Click ASSIGN.

Updating Account Access via Automation & Temporary Assignments


With temporary staff, you may want to give limited access to client accounts. For example, a temporary team member will need to access a document uploaded to an account but only during a specific stage of the work process.

This is easily set up and can be automated inside a pipeline. Here’s how:

1. Decide what stage you’ll need the temporary team member to access client accounts. (To learn more about automations, go here.)

2. Go to the pipeline settings, then add the Update Account Access automation to the chosen stage.You can set up the automation different ways:

  • Clear Existing Account Access toggled on & Add Account Access field empty:
    When a job enters the stage, assigned team members are removed from the account, and 
    team members with  Default Account Access are assigned to the account.
  • Clear Existing Account Access toggled on & Add Account Access field filled:
    When a job enters the stage, assigned team members are removed from the account, and 
    team members listed in the Add Account Access field are assigned to the account.
  • Clear Existing Account Access toggled off & Add Account Access field filled:
    When a job enters the stage, assigned team members remain assigned to the account, and
    team members listed in the Add Account Access field are also assigned to the account.
  • Clear Existing Account Access toggled off & Remove Account Access field filled:
    When a job enters the stage, team members listed in the Remove Account Access field are removed from the account.
  • Add Account Access field & Remove Account Access field filled:
    When a job enters the stage, team members listed in the Add Account Access field are assigned to the account, and team members listed in the Remove Account Access field are removed from the account.

How to See Team Member Accounts

Filter your account list to see which client accounts are assigned to specific team members:

1. Go to Clients, then click on the Filter button.

2. Select team members in the Team section, then click on Apply. You can select as many team members as you want. 

Accessing History of Changes

To see who was assigned and who was removed from an account, along with when, view the history of changes:

1. Go to Clients, then click on the account name in the list. You can also instantly find an account by going to the left sidebar menu on any page and entering the name in the search field.

2. Go to the Info section’s Team subtab. 

Viewing Team Member Stats for Client Accounts

As a firm owner, you can check out any team member’s stats for each of their assigned accounts. Go to Settings, then to Team & Plan. Click on the team member’s name, then navigate to the Clients tab. Stats are available for a team member's current and past accounts. 

You’ll find this info here:

  • ID: the account’s unique ID.
  • Name: the client’s first and last name.
  • Assigned: the date the team member was assigned to the account.
  • Invoices posted: the number of invoices posted.
  • Revenue: the total amount of invoices paid.
  • Docs uploaded: the number of documents uploaded.
  • Approved: the number of documents approved.

Removing a Team Member’s Access to an Account

When a team member no longer needs to be assigned to a client, you can the remove the account from their client list. 

Note: An account can’t be unassigned. If you remove all team members, the account automatically goes to anyone with default account access

To remove an account from a team member's list of assigned clients:

  1. Go to Settings, then to Team & Plans, then click on the team member's name in the list and navigate to the Clients tab. 
  2. Click on the red cross icon next to the account.
  3. Click on the YES, REMOVE button in the Client Remove Confirmation pop-up. The selected acсount is automatically moved to the team member’s Past tab.

To remove a team member from a client’s account:

  1. Go to Clients, then click on the account name in the list. You can also instantly find the account by going to the left sidebar menu on any page and entering the name in the search field. Go to the Info section's Team tab. You will see all of your team members in the Team Access list.
  2. Turn off the toggle next to the team member's name to remove their access to a client's account. 

Who Can Give a Team Member Access to Accounts

A firm owner can always give team members access rights to accounts. They also also can give other team members the ability to assign clients to anyone on the team. If you are a firm owner and want someone else to be able to assign accounts to their teammates:

1. Go to Settings, select Team & Plans in the menu bar, navigate to Active Team Members, then click on the team member name in the list.

2. Click on the Edit Access Rights pencil icon, then turn on the Assign Teammates toggle.

3. Click SAVE.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us