Locking a Document to a Bill

Avatar

By Mary Cooper

updated 12 days ago

You can lock the document to bill, so that the client can see that a new file is available, but they will not be able to view or download it until the bill for the work has been paid. Once it has been paid, the document automatically unlocks for the client.

Covered here:

Locking a Document to a Bill Overview

TaxDome allows you to lock any document to a bill for the work you put into preparing it—a handy feature that helps you better manage your billing altogether.

Once you have finished preparing a document for a client, you next upload it to the client’s TaxDome portal. Your uploaded files are never visible to the client until you decide to make them public. If you do not choose to lock the document to its bill when making it public, the client will be able to immediately download it. You do have that option. However, you can instead lock the document to its bill.

In general, we recommend locking documents to bills when you make it public to facilitate your billing process. When making public any prepared document, you’ll have the option of either locking it to an existing bill or creating a new bill to lock the document to.

If you prefer to make a document visible to a client first, then create the bill later, that works too—the order in which you do this is flexible. You can make a document public first, then lock it to a bill later when you create the bill. And you can always edit your public documents if necessary.

Locking a Private Document to a Bill

To lock a document to a bill, follow these steps:

1. Navigate to the Docs tab (the Private subtab is the default one) of the client’s profile, select the checkbox next to the required document(s), then click the MOVE TO PUBLIC button. If you need only one file to make public, you can also click on the vertical ellipsis icon to the far right of the document’s name, then click Publish.

TIP: If you still haven’t uploaded your files to TaxDome, refer to Uploading Documents article.

2. Enable the Do you want to lock this document to an unpaid bill? option, then select an existing bill or click Create New Bill to make a new one.

3. Select a due date for the bill and enter the amount of the bill.

4. By default, the bill will be assigned to the person who created it. However, you can select another team member to assign the bill to if you need to.

5. Add a text description (up to 150 characters) to give the client an idea of what services the bill is for and includes.

6. Click Submit to create the bill.

7. Click Upload to move the locked document to the Public section.

Locking a Public Document to a Bill

If you have uploaded your document straight to Public or haven’t selected a bill when moving a document to Public, you can lock it to a bill later:

1. Click on Clients in the left sidebar, select the client’s name, go to the Docs tab, then open the Public subtab.

2. Click on the vertical ellipsis to the far right of the document, then click Edit.

3. Enable the Do you want to lock this document to an unpaid bill? option, then select the bill that you want to lock the document to. A document can only be tied to one bill, while a single bill can have multiple documents locked to it.

4. Click Save to keep your changes.

Changing the Bill a Document is Locked to

You can change the bill a document is locked to at any time.Click on Change in the Edit Document pop-up, select the new bill you want to lock the document to, then click Save



Did this answer your question?