How Do I Prevent Clients to Make Changes to Docs (Seal)
Sometimes you might need to keep a client from touching a document they uploaded. For example, you might be working on an important file and don’t want the client to accidentally delete it or move it to another folder. In this case, you can move the document to the Public location (see how). Clients cannot delete documents or move them to another folder here. They can only view or download it.
Another option is to seal the document. This will leave the document in its original location, but the client will not be able to delete, edit, or move it to another folder. Note the following:
- You can seal any file or folder in the Client's Docs location
- If a sealed file/folder is moved to the Public or Private location, it is unsealed.
- If a file is moved from a sealed folder, it is unsealed.
To seal a document stored in the Client’s Docs location, select the checkbox to the left of the document(s) you want to seal, then click Seal above the list. You can also seal a folder so that all the documents inside it are not accessible to the client.
If you need to seal a file, you can also click on the three dots icon to the far right of the document’s name and select Seal.
All documents stored in Client’s Docs are unsealed by default. When you seal them, their status changes. Click on the up-down arrow icon to the right of the Status heading if you want to see all sealed documents.
When you no longer need to restrict your clients from managing specific documents, unseal them by selecting the files or folders and clicking the Unseal button above the list.
Or if you want to unseal only one file, you can also click on the three dots icon to the far right of the document’s name, then select Unseal.